top of page
Search
  • ruijialiu2020

Looking Back on the Journey

Helping a startup non-profit organization is really impressive to me. A true startup has a vision — that desire to change the world somehow. Everyone is working towards that world-changing solution. This vision tends to foster a culture of “let’s try it and see” if there’s even the slightest shred of evidence or hope of success. I feel like I worked in a fun, creative, imagination-sparking environment. Every week, we had intern team meeting which encouraged us to propose our ideas and ask questions. We did brainstorm meeting regularly, discussing Kwanele’s core values, what service we can provide, monitoring, evaluating and reporting, etc. I found that my teammates are less competitive and more cooperative and supportive of everyone’s efforts.


Jamboard for our brainstorm meeting


It is my pleasure to become involved in organizations such as Kwanele and similarly situated organizations in order to raise awareness about the ongoing plight of Gender Based Violence against women and children in South Africa and to use my voices, platforms, resources and knowledge to assist the cause of eradicating Gender Based Violence in South Africa and attaining the utmost form of relief for victims.


Every day I am inspired by the people that I meet and even through the challenges but the work I am doing is well worth it. I really enjoy helping victims get supporting services and walk them through all of our support systems we have in place to support them.


The only way we will ever get justice, is if the justice system is accessible to all - and the time has come for us as women to take back that power. We therefore need to work towards promoting access to justice and providing support structures for GBV survivors.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page